Inner Turmoil

Standard

To avoid the stress of election night, and because it’s a movie we’ve been wanting to see, Sam and I went to see Argo tonight. A different kind of stress, but at least only a little over two hours before we saw the outcome (which, of course, being based on a true story, we already knew).

I was only five and six at the time of the Iranian Revolution, and the subsequent hostage crisis. The revolution is such a key thing in my family history and trajectory, yet I have no direct memory of it and its coverage.
Watching this movie, I was struck by the fact that these events demonstrate the two halves of me – America and Iran – at war with one another. This makes me cry. Still processing.

Leave a Reply

