Not really a choice

Standard

As a mother, if I had to choose between having a hurt child and a dead child, hurt would win every time. Of course. But should those really be my options? Assault with a knife (hurt) versus assualt with a gun (dead)?
I think this national discourse is important but I fear that some important ideas are getting lost. Yes, I would like it if guns were not so readily available. But (perhaps more importantly) I would like to live in a world where violence is not celebrated. Where the marginalized don’t see violence as their only option. Where fewer people are marginilized. Where our culture is one of reconciliation and not retaliation.

Leave a Reply

