Connections

Standard

I was sitting here, pondering, and realized it was November 1, so figured I might as well turn that pondering into writing. It’s like a sickness – even with a dormant blog, I can’t resist the siren call of NaBloPoMo. We’ll see if I make it through the month, especially given my track record with blogging in recent years. So…

I was sitting here, pondering the possibility of needing to leave extra early for a flight tomorrow morning. I’m flying from New Orleans to Atlanta to Boston, nowhere near LAX, the site of today’s shooting. But I can see TSA being extra thorough across the country. I would guess flights and equipment and crews have been thrown off shedule and location by one person killing another and shooting more.

I don’t know the gunman’s motivations. Even if I did, I’m fairly certain I wouldn’t understand how that translates into shooting his way into an airport terminal. I don’t know if he wanted to be seen and to connect with others, but he achieved it. I wish it had been in a more constructive fashion.

“It is obvious that all created things are connected one to another by a linkage complete and perfect, even, for example, as are the members of the human body. Note how all the members and component parts of the human body are connected one to another. In the same way, all the members of this endless universe are linked one to another.”
Selections From the Writings of ‘Abdu’l-Bahá, page 48

Leave a Reply

